Dec 19 2007

Federal Communications Commission Launches an Initiative to use Telehealth Services to Increase Access to Health Care

Published by at 11:38 am under Telehealth

On November 19, 2007, the Federal Communications Commission (FCC) dedicated over $417 million to the construction of 69 statewide or regional broadband telehealth networks in 42 states and three U.S. territories under the Rural Health Care Pilot Program (RHCPP). The networks will deliver services efficiently, reduce costs and travel time for consumers, decrease medical errors, and enable health care providers to share critical information. In addition, participants are required to implement, where feasible, health information technology standards as set forth by HHS. Five of the 69 funded networks are located within the western states and territory. These funded networks are: the Alaska Native Tribal Health Consortium, the Association of Washington Public Hospital Districts, the California Telehealth Network, the Oregon Health Network, and the Pacific Broadband Telehealth Demonstration Project. For more information, go to

No responses yet

Trackback URI | Comments RSS

Leave a Reply